Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 38

By: Pittman, Allen, Anderson, Barrington, Bass, Bice, Bingman, Boggs, Brecheen, Brooks, Brown, Crain, Dahm, David, Dossett, Fields, Floyd, Ford, Fry, Garrison, Griffin, Halligan, Holt, Jech, Jolley, Justice, Loveless, Marlatt, Matthews, Mazzei, Newberry, Paddack, Quinn, Schulz, Sharp, Shaw, Shortey, Silk, Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, Standridge, Stanislawski, Sykes, Thompson, Treat, Wyrick and Yen of the Senate

and

Young of the House

A Concurrent Resolution congratulating the 2016 Class 4A Boys' Basketball state champions, the Frederick A. Douglass High School Trojans; commending their hard work and perseverance; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, Frederick A. Douglass High School was founded on January 5, 1891, became an official high school in 1898, and held its first graduation in 1903 with eight students; and

WHEREAS, the Oklahoma City Frederick A. Douglass High School Trojans finished their 2016 basketball season with a 57-45 win over the Fort Gibson Tigers on March 12, 2016, at the State Fair Arena in Oklahoma City, clinching their team's sixth state title in seven years; and

WHEREAS, Oklahoma City's Frederick A. Douglass High School Trojans led 18-10 coming out of the first quarter, but Fort Gibson fought back to leave the Trojans with a 23-22 lead at half time; by the end of the third quarter the Trojans had extended their lead to 45-32; and

WHEREAS, this victory was earned with determination and perseverance as the Trojans fought their way back to the battle for the gold ball, concluding their 2016 season with an impressive record of 27-3; and

WHEREAS, after their 57-45 win against the Fort Gibson Tigers, the team is now turning its focus on earning another gold ball next year to add to their State Champion legacy, having earned nine OSSAA State Championships in 1984, 1986, 1989, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and now 2016; and

WHEREAS, Coryon Mason and Patrick McKaufman were named to the Oklahoman's 4A All-Tournament team, while McKaufman was also named as the Oklahoman's Class 4A Tournament Most Valuable Player, the OBCA 4A Player of the Year as well as named to the OBCCA All State team and OCA All State team; and

WHEREAS, the team is comprised of players, coaches and support staff that are committed to excellence, including Head Coach Kendal Cudjoe and Assistant Coaches Nathaniel Jones, Otis Moses and Lennon Anderson; and players Patrick McKaufman, J'Zajuan Cyrus, Jesse Wilson, Rueban LaSarge, Andrew Williams, Taron Adamson, Delmon Mask, Rayontae Nelson, Ste'Tonio Horne, Coryon Mason, Day'Quann Ervin, Treijon Edwards and Christopher Friday. Team managers Charity Shaw and Jada Taylor; Statistician Susan McKee; and videographers Charles Tate, Nicholas Neely and William Shufflebottom are all part of Frederick A. Douglass High School's legacy of excellence.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 55TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

THAT the Oklahoma Legislature congratulates the 2016 Class 4A Boys Basketball state champions, the Frederick A. Douglass High School Trojans.

THAT the Oklahoma Legislature commends the team's many achievements and their hard work throughout the season.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Frederick A. Douglass Boys Basketball Head Coach, Kendal Cudjoe.

Adopted by the Senate the 10th day of May, 2016.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Adopted by the House of Representatives the 19th day of May, 2016.

Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Received by the Office of the Secretary of State this

day of _____, 20 ____, at _____ o'clock _____M.

By: _____